The Octodurian Symphonists – Three Italies

Postponed until the winter of 2022, the collaboration with the violin and double bass solos of the Orchestra of La Scala in Milan will finally take place, and in a different program than the one initially planned.

The Symphonists are particularly happy to have these two musicians with both regional, since Francesco De Angelis is a professor at the HEMU in Sion, and international influence.

Three Italies means first of all radically different styles of composition, as well as three worlds sometimes in opposition. Inspired by a trip, Mendelssohn drew on the characteristic rhythms and motifs of Italian dances to compose his fourth symphony. The highly imaginative style of a film music regular like Nino Rota brings to the program its share of curiosity and discovery. And, at the heart of the program, the concerto of a brilliant double bass player and composer who knew how to highlight his instrument in very demonstrative pieces of exceptional difficulty. A perfect opportunity to call upon these two very talented soloists from the region where Giovanni Bottesini was born.

Nino Rota, Concerto for strings,
G. Bottesini, Grand Duo Concertant,
F. Mendelssohn, Symphony No. 4 “Italian

Francesco De Angelis, violin
Francesco Siragusa, double bass
of the Scala of Milan

Reservation required

Cookie consent declaration
By continuing to browse this site, you agree to the use of cookies to improve your user experience and to compile visit statistics.
Privacy policy